2016 Preservation Awards
Thursday, October 13, at 6 pm, Five Hundred Seneca
Our Selection Committee is hard at work selecting the winners of our 2016 Preservation Awards, but we want to hear what you think! We're pleased to offer an additional People's Choice Award this year. Please vote for your favorite Outstanding Project by September 1 and join us at our 2016 Preservation Awards ceremony on October 13, 2016 at Five Hundred Seneca. Stay tuned to for our announcement of the Category award winners coming in September!
656 Lafayette Avenue
656 Lafayette Avenue, also known as the Dodge/Scime House, was designed by Buffalo architect William Johnson and built in 1898. After being purchased by Tom and Melinda Scime in 1982, they undertook a full restoration of the house, including restoring the original brick chimneys, foundation, and leaded glass windows.
The Planing Mill
Built in three periods between 1878 and the 1920's, the E.M. Hager & Sons Planing Mill specialized in carpentry and timber-framed construction. It is one of just a few intact mills that remains as a testament to Buffalo's industrial and manufacturing era. The building was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2013 and was completed as a home for both resident and commercial tenants in 2014 by TM Montante Development.
This former corner store at 128 Fargo Ave was converted into a small neighborhood coffee shop that opens to the residential street surrounding it. The restoration of the building included stripping away the multiple layers of material that had been added over the years to reveal hidden treasures like the tin ceiling. Architects Davidson Rafailidis sought to created a building that combines the historic architectural elements with a modern sensibility.
Historic 1833 Buffalo Lighthouse Lens Project
The Buffalo Lighthouse is the oldest structure in its original location in the City of Buffalo and effort was undertaken to restore light to this incredible landmark. Decomissioned over a century ago in 1914, there was a need to restore the original lens, which has well-exceeded its lifespan. A Fresnal lens was installed in 2015, making it a working lighthouse again for the first time in 102 years.
Constructed in 1895, the Lafayette Avenue Presbyterian Church was one of Buffalo's first suburban churches. After facing a declining membership, the community of the Church organized a team of professionals to develop a plan for the structure. The outcome is the Lafayette Lofts, a mix of residential and commercial space that also allows the Church's community to remain.
Five Hundred Seneca
Formerly the F.N. Burt Box Factory, Five Hundred Seneca has undergone a major restoration to a mixed use building comprising of both commercial and residential space. Through the extenisve construction efforts, architectural gems such as original hardwood floors in the atrium were discovered and restored. Five Hundred Seneca is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Hayes Hall Building Wide Reconstruction
Home to the UB School of Architectur and Planning, Hayes Hall underwent significant rennovations to make it a more functional space for students and faculty while retaining the historic character of the space. The existing structure remains in place, with no major changes to the building's footprint, while the interior space represents a contemporary design.
The Tishman Building
An International Style building situated near Lafayette Square, the Tishman Building first opened in 1959 and has since been converted to a mixed use space by Hamister Development and Carmina Woods Morris, DPC. In addition to the Hilton Garden Inn Hotel, the building also now includes market-rate apartments with stunning views of the City.
Allen Herschell Office Building
The Carrousel Society of the Niagara Frontier recently undertook a construction effort to restore the original Allan Herschell Company office as an adaptive reuse space for the Education Center of the Herschell Carrousel Society Factory Museum. Demolition work began in 2015, as the non-original hip roof was removed in addition to the siding and complete overhaul of the duct work. The building is now in use and has hosted meetings and educational events.
Turner Brothers Lofts
Originally built in 1853, the building was home to the Turner Brothers Company before being purchased by Schneider Development and being turned into a mixed-use building completed in 2016. The property is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a part of the first phase of the City of Buffalo's Niagara Street streetscape project.
Remember to vote for your favorite Outstanding Project before September 1!